Yes, I'll come --- Hmm No, I won't

Say it all here
Forum rules
NOTICE: Please be sure to check the CFP Message Board Rules and Regulations and the Read Me page before posting.
donovan
Athletic Director
Athletic Director

Yes, I'll come --- Hmm No, I won't

Postby donovan » Mon Jan 25, 2016 12:59 pm

The decommits and recommits are so rampant, makes you wonder how long schools will put up with this. I am far from a legal expert, I leave that to barrister Billybud and I do not know if a commit is any type of contract. I do know that if a person has a contract it is against the UCC to entice or influence a person to break a contract. So what do the schools tell a committed player to entice them to renege?

I suspect, players say yes so they can have one in the pocket and then when what they see as a better offer comes along, adios. I can see why coaches do not like recruiting.
Statistics are the Morphine of College Football

Cane from the Bend
Athletic Director
Athletic Director

Re: Yes, I'll come --- Hmm No, I won't

Postby Cane from the Bend » Tue Jan 26, 2016 6:47 am

There is no legal commitment until after signing day. Once the signature has been inked, the only way out, is to either start the transfer process, or drop out.

I do recall a story some years back, where a kid no longer wanted to play football. He was the Starting Quarterback for his University. So he quit the Football Team, and join the schools Cheer Leading Squad.

I do not know what sort of arrangement goes into that particular move, however, he did stay with the same school.

Cane... [__]

"It is only impossible until it has been accomplished." ... then it becomes standardized ...

Success is measured by results; whereas Character is measured through the means by which one achieves those results . . .

It seems the Rapture did come for two worthy souls:
In Memory of Grandpa Howdy
In Memory of Donovan Davisson

Cane from the Bend
Athletic Director
Athletic Director