Forty Years Ago Today

A place to talk about anything. Stocks, politics, or your neighbors who won't turn down that music.
Forum rules
NOTICE: Please be sure to check the CFP Message Board Rules and Regulations and the Read Me page before posting.
billybud
Athletic Director
Athletic Director

Forty Years Ago Today

Postby billybud » Tue May 04, 2010 11:07 am

Forty years ago today an event rocked my 23 year old world.

A group of guardsmen turned and fired 68 rounds at the unarmed protesting students of Kent State. Although still young and a sophomore, I was a vet and somewhat of a hawk. I was stunned, as we all were.

After all of the investigations, no one has ever asserted that any order took place. It seems that a lack of discipline caused some guardsman on the hill to wheel and shoot and then others joined in. I have often wondered about that. That 68 rounds would be fired, that troops wheeled around almost in unison and fired, yet no order to fire?

I do think that the deaths and injuries at Kent State were not necessarily in vain. That protest and its aftermath marked a turning point of sorts for a lot of public opinion. Certainly mine.
“If short hair and good manners won football games, Army and Navy would play for the national championship every year.”

donovan
Athletic Director
Athletic Director

Re: Forty Years Ago Today

Postby donovan » Tue May 04, 2010 2:13 pm

Like you, I remember this incident well. I had just returned but still in. This was not my turning point, had already been there, just another testament that the United States was no longer United and the studied cohesiveness of WWII had eroded.

I believe today my frustrations intensify because there is no one out there that comes close to reflecting my views...and frankly most of my friends views, even if we are on the different side of the page.
Statistics are the Morphine of College Football

Spence
Administrator
Administrator

Postby Spence » Tue May 04, 2010 2:34 pm