Arkansas fires Pelphrey

A place to chat about that other college sport during the football off-season.
Forum rules
NOTICE: Please be sure to check the CFP Message Board Rules and Regulations and the Read Me page before posting.
Dossenator

Arkansas fires Pelphrey

Postby Dossenator » Sun Mar 13, 2011 5:32 pm

Well, Arkansas fired coach Pelphrey today. This is the third straight season with no NCAA tournament. The days of Eddie Sutton and Nolan Richardson seem so far away. Arkansas has a great history in basketball but have not played so well the past 10 years. The 70's to about 2000 were great years to be a Hog fan. I was a freshman the fall of 1994 (right after they won the National Championship and was in the Hogwild band in 1995 when they played in the Championship game against UCLA).

Brief History:
The University of Arkansas recently completed its 88th season on men's basketball. The Razorbacks won the 1994 NCAA Championship and earned a national runner-up finish in 1995. Arkansas has advanced to a total of six NCAA Final Fours, made 10 NCAA Sweet Sixteen appearances and won 40 NCAA Tournament victories. The Razorbacks have won 24 conference championships (22 SWC, 2 SEC), four SEC divisional championships and seven conference tournament championships (6 SWC, 1 SEC).

I hope the Hogs can get a good coach. When Nolan left I thought his assistant Mike Anderson should have been hired. Anderson is now the coach at Missouri. He is the person most Hog fans would like to get. They believe he will bring back that 40 minutes of Hell that Nolan was so famous for.

Arkansas also has a top 3 recruiting class (a month or so ago it was ranked #1 overall) coming in this next season with many key players back from this years team. Whoever the coach, they will be stepping into a great situation.